Vroon holds naming ceremony for new subsea support vessel

first_imgVOS Stone; Image: VroonDutch provider of offshore support vessels, Vroon, has named the newest addition to its fleet in a ceremony held on Friday, December 8.Vroon said last Saturday that the new member of the fleet, the VOS Stone, was named in Rotterdam by Ingrid van Driel, Vroon’s group controller.VOS Stone, like its sister vessel VOS Start, is a subsea-support walk-to-work vessel, purpose-built to support offshore operations in the renewables industry and walk-to-work projects in the oil & gas industry.The vessel was launched in June this year and delivered to Vroon by Fujian Southeast Shipbuilding, China, the following month. After undergoing final outfitting works in the Netherlands, VOS Stone is now ready to begin operations in the North Sea.Both the VOS Stone and VOS Start are equipped with a motion-compensated offshore gangway and a 50T active-heave-compensated crane. A covered warehouse on the main-deck level allows the vessel to perform cargo handling and passenger transfers to and from offshore assets, such as wind turbines, offshore platforms, or crew-transfer vessels, as well as engage in subsea-support operations.The vessel can carry a total of 87 persons, offering accommodation and workspace for up to 27 crew members and 60 workers with Wi-Fi connection and recreation facilities which include a cinema and a gym.The first job awarded to the VOS Stone will be outside the oil and gas sector. The vessel has already been awarded a contract by VBMS to support inter-array cabling operations at the Arkona Offshore Windfarm during the first half of next year. In the summer of 2018, the vessel will undertake similar operations for E.ON, working on commissioning operations at the same windfarm.last_img read more


Indian Premier League IPL 2019: Chris Lynn fifty, Sunil Narine flatten Rajasthan Royals

first_imgChris Lynn smashed his seventh fifty in the Indian Premier League.Harry Gurney picked up two wickets on his debut.Kolkata Knight Riders have gone to the top of the table in IPL 2019. New Delhi: Rajasthan Royals scored 28 runs in the powerplay. Kolkata Knight Riders blasted 65 in the first six overs thanks to Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine. The contrast in the powerplays, highlighted by Rajasthan Royals’ insipid display against spin contrasting with Kolkata Knight Riders’ aggressive intent, made the difference. Steve Smith smashed 73* but Lynn’s blazing 7th fifty off 32 balls and 91-run opening stand with Narine helped Dinesh Karthik’s side register a facile eight-wicket win over Ajinkya Rahane’s Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur on Sunday. With this win, Kolkata Knight Riders went to the top of the table but Rajasthan Royals’ display in their home turf will already worry the franchise as they are second from bottom.On a pitch that assisted the spinners, Rajasthan Royals never got going against the likes of Narine, Piyush Chawla and surprisingly, Harry Gurney, who was included in the Kolkata Knight Riders side in place of Lockie Ferguson. Karthik won the toss and chose to bowl and he was immediately rewarded when Prasidh Krishna struck with his first ball and removed Rahane for 4. Jos Buttler got going with three boundaries but Kolkata Knight Riders dried the boundaries up in the next four overs, with Narine and Chawla not giving away easy runs. highlights Buttler and Smith tried to find the boundary but at the half-way stage, the run-rate was below six. The introduction of left-arm pacer Gurney increased Rajasthan Royals’ woes with the England pacer expertly cutting down on the pace and getting the ball to grip on this wicket. Buttler launched a six off Gurney but the in the next ball, he miscued the lofted shot and was out for 37.Smith held firm and notched up his fifty with a couple of boundaries off Krishna but when Gurney sent back Rahul Tripathi (6), Rajasthan Royals lost momentum. Ben Stokes swung and miss and failed to back-up Smith, who tried to attack by hammering Narine over deep midwicket for a six. Stokes struggled for 14 balls and managed just seven runs as Rajasthan Royals managed just 36 runs in the last five overs to reach 139/3.In response, Narine and Lynn capitalised on the powerplay. The left-hander pummeled Krishnappa Gowtham for four boundaries and a six in one over and the 22-run overlaid the platform for Kolkata Knight Riders to dictate terms to the opposition. They were also aided by some good fortune in the fourth over bowled by Dhawal Kulkarni. Narine was deceived by a slower ball from Kulkarni and he chipped it to the leg side only for Tripathi to drop the catch. Next ball, Kulkarni got a ball to jag back in and Lynn was beaten. The ball hit the stump, the bail lit up but was not dislodged. With luck not going Rajasthan Royals’ way, Kolkata Knight Riders took the attack to the bowlers.Narine and Lynn regularly found the boundaries and did not allow the run-rate to dip below 10. The West Indies all-rounder looked set for another aggressive fifty but he edged a googly from Shreyas Gopal to be out caught for 47.Lynn reached his fifty but on the next ball, he was out caught at deep backward square leg by Gopal. It made no difference to the ultimate result as Robin Uthappa slammed two sixes and the end came via a wide from Stokes. It was an anti-climatic end to a dominant performance, a performance that has enabled the side to go on top. Kolkata Knight Riders managed to win this without Andre Russell’s contribution and that will boost their confidence even higher. For Rajasthan Royals, their performance in their ‘fortress’ has raised a lot of uncomfortable questions. For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.last_img read more


Glo-CAF Awards: Aubameyang, Mahrez, Mane Mke Top Three

first_imgIn the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, the three finalists include Rainford Kabala of Zambia and T.P Mazembe F.C and Mamelodi Sundowns F.C of South Africa duo of Dennis Onyango from Uganda and Zimbabwean, Khama Billiat.The list is prepared through a vigorous selection process by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of CAF, taking into account the performance of the players for their national teams and clubs from January to November of each year.The ultimate winner of the award will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches or the Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.The African Football King will be crowned at the Awards Night holding at the International Convention Centre, Abuja on 5th January, 2017. Winners in other categories will also be announced at the eventGlobacom has been the title sponsor of the Awards since 2005.Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegram Top three nominees for the 2016 Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year and African Player of the Year (based in Africa) awards were released on Wednesday in Cairo by Confederation of African Football (CAF).The players were shortlisted from a five-man list earlier nominated for the African Player of the Year and five players who made the list for the Player of the Year (based in Africa) category.The three players who made the final list for African Player of the Year are reigning African Footballer of the Year and Borussia Dortmund winger, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Gabon, Senegal and Liverpool midfielder, Sadio Mane, and Riyad Mahrez of Leicester City of England and Algeria.last_img read more