First batch of 2020 Iowa Caucus results show Buttigieg in lead

first_imgDES MOINES — At 4 p.m. today the Iowa Democratic Party finally started releasing results from last night’s Iowa Caucuses.The data dump from 62 percent of precincts shows Pete Buttigieg in first place, with nearly 27 percent of delegates in those precincts. Bernie Sanders close behind with just over 25 percent. Elizabeth Warren was in third and Joe Biden was in fourth.Iowa Democratic Party chairman Troy Price spoke at a downtown Des Moines news conference just before the results were posted and apologized for the party’s problems in reporting Caucus Night results.“The bottom line is that we hit a strumbling block on the back end of the reporting of the data,” Price said, “but the one thing I want you to know — we know this data is accurate.”Price was asked if he was resigning. He told reporters he’s committed to seeing the party through the Caucus process and Price said whatever happens after that is to be determined.last_img read more


National team aims for better placing

first_imgJamaica’s national dart team is looking forward to a stronger performance at this year’s Caribbean Championship that will be held in Barbados.The local body, Jamaica Dart Association (JDA), named a 13-member squad for the regional tournament to run from July 12-17.National player/coach Colin Chandia expects the team to finish better than the seventh place in last year’s competition.”We participated last year after a long layoff, where we finished seventh out of 12 teams. We have been working hard for the past three months in order to be better prepared,” Chandia told The Gleaner.”The main focus is to finish in a higher position. We should give a significant performance this year,” he emphasised.He is looking towards the senior players to inspire the team, which was selected from players participating in the ongoing local league.The full team is: Men – Albert Bailey (Portmore Contenders), Colin Chandia (Chelsea Precision), David Green (BOJ Gators), Dwight Smith (Chelsea Precision), Evon Faulkner (BOJ Gators), Lynford Jonas (Dynasty MoBay), Mark Birthwright (Central Miners) and Winston Ferguson (Portmore Stimulus).Women – Carol Cheese (Shooting Stars), Catherine Stewart (BOJ Gators), Jennifer Reid (MoBay Darters), Lorraine Nembhard (Portmore Contenders) and Marvel Brown (MoBay Darters).last_img read more